University of Münster

The University of Münster is a public institution and one of the biggest public universities in Germany. It conducts top level research and academic studies.

About the University of Münster

The University of Münster is a full university with 15 faculties. At present 45.371 students are studying at the University of Münster in 140 subjects and 7.900 members of staff (not including student assistants and freelance lecturers).

The University of Münster conducts outstanding research in the Humanities, including research in Religious Studies and Theology. Further main fields of research at the University of Münster are Mathematics and Natural Sciences; Law, Business Administration and Information Technology.

In June 2014, the University of Münster decided to construct a “Campus of Religions” / “Campus of Theologies” following internal discussions with the Faculty of Protestant Theology, the Faculty of Catholic Theology, the Center of Islamic Theology and the Center of Religious Studies, together with further Institutes dealing with religious studies and with the Cluster of Excellence on “Religion and Politics”. The new “Campus of Religions” / “Campus of Theologies” intends to become a center of Religious Studies and Theology within Europe and beyond.

The new campus will be opened in spring 2024.

The main contribution of the University of Münster to RESILIENCE will be the provision of an expertise, including material and top research experts of comparative Religious Studies.